TN House and Senate Bills

The House and Senate bills will appear on the calendar March 13 – So ACT NOW!

The bills below are separate. Each one will be judged on its own merits. A sponsor is required for both the House and the Senate. The House version and the Senate version are identical. Other co-sponsors may sign on as supporters of the bills over time.

The State is restricting your access to cancer treatment. SB367/HB523 seeks to change this. Show your support and contact your representatives today!

The bill expands the current proton therapy coverage by the state health plan, by requiring the state group insurance program to cover a physician prescribed hypofractionation proton therapy treatment at the same cost as the state plan would pay for traditional radiation therapy (IMRT). The bill adds no cost to the state, the insurers or the patient receiving the treatment.

Senate Bill 0367  

View Bill

Senator Mark Green(615) 741-2374 | sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

House Bill 0523

View Bill

Representative Bob Ramsey(615) 741-3560rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov

As introduced, requires health insurance coverage to cover hypofractionated proton therapy in the same manner as it covers intensity modulated radiation therapy under certain conditions.

In this bill, the Benefits Administration indicated they would be adding proton therapy to their health plan for all Medicare indication and now they are not. View page 3 in the document found below.

Watch video of testimony on SB 0367
January 23, 2018
TN Department of Finance and Administration
Representatives from Provision CARES Proton Therapy – Knoxville

Watch video of Testimony on SB0523
March 13, 2018
Insurance and Banking Committee
Representatives from Provision CARES Proton Therapy – Knoxville

Next testimony on SB0523
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 at 9:00 a.m. CST

Senate Bill 0758

View Bill

Representative Ryan Williams(615) 741-1875 | rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

House Bill 0899

View Bill

Senator Mark Pody(615) 741-2421sen.mark.pody@capitol.tn.gov

No health benefit plan that provides coverage for cancer therapy shall hold proton radiation therapy to a higher standard of clinical evidence for medical policy benefit coverage decisions than the health plan requires for coverage of any other radiation therapy treatment.

Senate Bill 0922

View Bill

Senator Bill Ketron(615) 741-6853sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov

House Bill 1059

View Bill

Representative William Lamberth | (615) 741-1980rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov

As introduced, prohibits an insurance policy that provides benefits for anti-cancer medications that are injected or intravenously administered by a healthcare provider and anti-cancer medications that are patient administered from requiring a higher copayment, deductible, or coinsurance amount for the patient administered anti-cancer medication than for the injected or intravenously administered anti-cancer medication.

This is a “Call to Action” for the State Commerce and Labor Committee and House Insurance and Labor Committee – Please show your support and take action by reaching out to the TN Legislature Committee Members and ask them to vote “YES” on these bills. Click here to email all members listed below, or you may email them each individually by clicking their email address below.

State Commerce & Labor Committee Members:

  1. Sen. Bill Ketron | (615) 741-6853 | sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov
  2. Sen. Bo Watson | (615) 741-3227 | sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov
  3. Sen. Dolores Gresham | (615) 741-2368 | sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov
  4. Sen. Frank S. Niceley | (615) 741-2061 | sen.frank.niceley@capitol.tn.gov
  5. Sen. Jack Johnson | (615) 741-2495 | sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
  6. Sen. Ken Yager | (615) 741-1449 | sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov
  7. Sen. Kerry Roberts | (615) 741-4499 | sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov
  8. Sen. Mark Green | (615) 741-2374 | sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov
  9. Sen. Regina Tate | (615) 741-2509 | sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

House Insurance & Banking Committee Members:

  1. Rep. Bill Beck | (615) 741-3229 | rep.bill.beck@capitol.tn.gov
  2. Rep. Charles Sargent | (615) 741-6808 | rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov
  3. Rep. Clark Boyd | (615) 741-7086 | rep.clark.boyd@capitol.tn.gov
  4. Rep. Dennis Powers | (615) 741-3335 | rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov
  5. Rep. Dwayne Thompson | (615) 741-1920 | rep.dwayne.thompson@capitol.tn.gov
  6. Rep. G. A. Hardaway | (615) 741-5625 | rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
  7. Rep. James (Micah) Van Huss | (615) 741-1717 | rep.micah.vanhuss@capitol.tn.gov
  8. Rep. Jason Zachary | (615) 741-2264 | rep.jason.zachary@capitol.tn.gov
  9. Rep. Jerome Moon | (615) 741-5481 | rep.jerome.moon@capitol.tn.gov
  10. Rep. Joe Pitts | (615) 741-2043 | rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov
  11. Rep. Joe Towns Jr. | (615) 741-2189 | rep.joe.towns@capitol.tn.gov
  12. Rep. Judd Metheny | (615) 741-7448 | rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov
  13. Rep. Kelly Keisling | (615) 741-6852 | rep.kelly.keisling@capitol.tn.gov
  14. Rep. Kevin Brooks | (615) 741-1350 | rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
  15. Rep. Kevin Vaughan | (615) 741-1866 | rep.kevin.vaughan@capitol.tn.gov
  16. Rep. Michael G. Curcio | (615) 741-3513 | rep.michael.curcio@capitol.tn.gov
  17. Rep. Mike Sparks | (615) 741-6829 | rep.mike.sparks@capitol.tn.gov
  18. Rep. Ron M. Gant | (615) 741-6890 | rep.ron.gant@capitol.tn.gov
  19. Rep. Ron Travis | (615) 741-1450 | rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov
  20. Rep. Timothy Hill | (615) 741-2050 | rep.timothy.hill@capitol.tn.gov
  21. Rep. Tim Rudd | (615) 741-2804 | rep.tim.rudd@capitol.tn.gov